Product Open Data Twenty Sixteen

Discussion about the maintenance and expansion/ updating of the Open Product Database.

1 Like

hi everyone,

I just introduced myself in the “New Member Introductions” topic. Briefly: I am a software developer, and I work in the eCommerce domain. I am interested in the Open Product Data project for both personal and professional reasons.

It is a first time for me trying to contribute to an open source project, and I am looking forward to help.

With that said, I have a preliminary question to ask: are there any particular reasons why the project was left aside?

Cheers.

1 Like

Not sure how it stumbled, just stopped being maintained and brought forward properly, website could do with an update etc.

Certainly worth maintaining and trying to expand though, I think.

1 Like

We are looking into making a peer-to-peer web shop, for which it would be beneficial to get a baseline of product info. We obviously have the option to start creating a product database from scratch, but in case there is global data, this could create a nice baseline from where to start enriching and crowdsourcing the information. To establish this, might someone know:

What is the source of this 2013 data?

What kind of action would updating it involve?

I’ve raised this question before and today would like to do so again: what’s the legal status of this open data project?

I really value everyone’s effort! And I would love to see this initiative flourish, but there are multiple issues here: