Public Library as an Open Library

Hello, my name is Fabiano Caruso, and I live in Florianópolis, Brazil.

[sorry about my english, google translate save me]

I am an activist and researcher on open governance and open science models since 2002 when I idealized and created the ExtraLibris brand (extralibris.org). And we are now in partnership with the Florianópolis City Hall to re-signify the Municipal Public Library.

The vision of my project is to turn the public library into a kind of open university, a space for co-research, co-learning and co-creation.

However, we do not have financial resources being allocated by the city hall to the library, because historically in Brazil the public libraries have been transformed into spaces for the relocation of educators of the public sector readapted and are receiving less and less investments.

I believe there is a great potential to incorporate social technology, open standards, and open data, for example, to initially create a new governance model for library catalog data, and a collaborative collection curative process, in an integrated way with several other initiatives.

In recent months I have developed a module for WordPress to replace automation systems that do not allow open access to library catalog data.

However, in a next phase I am looking for partnerships to develop other solutions, such as thinking how the organization of the collections and loans can occur in a decentralized way.

Parallel to the public library we are already implementing this model of governance in a library of art and culture: http://artecultura.inf.br.

And the future wordpress site for our públic library: http://barreirosfilhos.inf.br