Citizen Engagement with Open Government Data: Your Opinion?

Hi everyone,

I am studying citizen engagement with open government data to tackle societal problems. I would like to share my preliminary research findings of this topic.

Most academic literature investigates top-down citizen engagement led by the government such as open data hackathons, while, I believe that bottom-up initiatives fully organized by citizens exist in practice. One of my case studies is the use of open election data by Indonesians for providing faster results of the election to society. You can find out about the results of this study here: https://doi.org/10.1145/3209281.3209305

Do you know similar initiatives as such? We can start a discussion on this.

Thank you!

Best regards,

2 Likes

I know some examples from my context. In Latin America, there is the AbreLatam event, organized by civil society, that runs parallel and simultaneous to the government-led Condatos.

Specifically in Brazil, there are many citizen led initiatives that do use open data. This post at the Open Knowledge Brazil blog, albeit in Portuguese, links to some of them.

You might also want to check out the topic on citizen-generated data on this forum.

1 Like

Hi @herrmann,

Thank you for providing examples in the context of Latin America. AbreLatam is indeed an interesting event. I would love to participate in such an event.

Examples of citizen-led initiatives are also impressive. Do you know any contacts of the community who built the apps? I would really like to understand how they organize themselves in the initiatives.