Stockholm Uni Master Thesis Research Project

I am currently studying a master’s program here in Sweden and would be interested to do my research in the areas of transparency, accountability, right to information, human rights, among others.

5 Likes

@deiemmanuella Amazing! I migrated this to a separate topic. What hypothetical questions come to mind in regards to what you are curious to research? :slight_smile:

1 Like

So I’ve been thinking about questions around the effect of technology on government transparency. Also, I realized most developing countries do not effectively implement policies or laws on the right to information. I would like to explore why this is so, and also, how that can be improved. For now, that’s what comes to mind.

1 Like

Hi @deiemmanuella! Really cool topic :upside_down_face:

As @mattias mentioned, I believe starting with clear hypothesis for your research would help you narrow down your research and research questions since there are so many angles to transparency. For example, you mentioned the effect of technology on government transparency. A possible hypothesis for this questions could be: Government with higher technology maturity present higher levels of transparency.

With this starting point we would already have some challenges. How to mesure technology maturity within governments? How to measure levels of transparency (which indicators to use). Being more transparent is always beneficial? Why? In which cases being less transparent is more beneficial for the public good?

Some food for thoughts! Let me know what you think.

1 Like