Core Data Curators - Introductions

We invite you to introduce yourself here. Suggested items to cover - you can add whatever else you like:

• Your name
  • Your background and current area of work
  • Your skills
  • Why you are interested in contributing

Hello.

I’m Edafe and I’m a data geek. I help organisations get the most out of their data, without the tech speak.

I’m a consultant, trainer and data tamer. My specialty is data strategy but I love data in all forms, shapes and sizes. I also believe in “knowledge for everyone” and the power of collaboration.

That’s why I’m here.

I’ve worked with data for 18 years, mainly in database architecture, modelling and development. My SQL skills are sharp, I can Excel with the best of them and I’m picking up python and R by the day.

That’s me in a nutshell!

2 Likes

I’m Phil and I’m a software developer.

I’ve interests in linked and open data, the semantic web, and open source software. I believe that open data is empowering for the general public and this make it very important, I feel the same way about open source software. Linked data and the semantic web are important to me as I see them as a natural evolution for the world wide web and as such are great tools for change.

I’ve a growing interest in the ethics of IT and Computer Science, and in data protection for private individuals.

Technical bit:
I worked with several programming languages in the last 20 years. My languages of choice are Python and C#, also Java when scraping. I also know SQL, SPARQL, CSV, JSON, XML, RDF.

I have experience scraping web pages, MS Office documents, PDF etc. I’ve worked with Excel and Open Refine. All useful stuff in the open data world.

2 Likes

Hi ,